Millionaire’s Shortbread – Thankful Edition

As you may know, I’ve made millionaire’s shortbread many, many times. It’s fun, it’s easy, it’s delicious, and it’s one of my favorite recipes to make. But, I haven’t made it in a while. Fortunately, there’s a pretty easy solution to that, so I decided to take care of it.

DSC01737

As you may also know, I like playing games. A friend was putting another game together, and I decided to make millionaire’s shortbread for everyone to enjoy while playing. This friend is the one who first suggested I make millionaire’s shortbread, oh so many moons ago. He really enjoys it. I brought it the last time he organized this particular game, and it had gone over really well. I looked for other recipes to make instead, always trying to keep it fresh, but nothing else really struck me, so I went for this again.

A simple dough.

A simple dough.

Since it was going to be a whole gaggle of people, I made a double recipe. I can almost make these in my sleep, but not quite, so I referred to the recipe a little bit as I was making it. The way I cut it, it ended up to be about 60 cookies, although they were not uniform. One of these days I need to make a template or something.

Ready to bake.

Ready to bake.

I brought about 35 cookies to the game. People were very excited to see that I brought them, particularly those who had them last time and knew what they were in for. The friend I made them for was very happy to have them, as was everyone else. They went over very, very well.

Fresh from the oven.

Fresh from the oven.

I have to say the caramel was pretty amazing. Like extra caramely, or something. Really nice. I used different sweetened condensed milk than I normally use, so maybe that was it? Or maybe I’ve just gotten really good at making caramel. 😉

Topped with freshly made caramel.

Topped with freshly made caramel.

There were plenty of cookies left, so I brought some into work. People at work kinda fell in love with them. I’ve brought a bunch of different things into work before, including these several times, but people reacted more strongly to these than probably anything else. How strongly?

And then some chocolate.

And then some chocolate.

I got several comments that I should sell these. One person said it made their eyes flutter, and there was even a proclamation that it was my best item yet. People are generally happy when I bring stuff in, but this was above and beyond. These were a big hit.

After chilling they look like this.

After chilling it looks like this.

I received a lot of thanks for making these, both at the game and at work, but I want to thank my friend as well. So thank you, good sir, for first suggesting them, and thank you for putting together an awesome game. These cookies were made in your honor, and I’m glad you enjoyed them.

And like this from the side.

And like this from the side.

If you’ve made these before, you know how simple they are to make, and how amazing they taste. The recipe has a very good effort to result ratio. If you haven’t made these before, I’m not quite sure what you’re waiting for. They are definitely worth it.

Cutting into small pieces. They're very rich, so this is a very important step.

Cutting into small pieces. They’re very rich, so this is an important step.

I’d love to hear your experiences with making millionaire’s shortbread. Do people love them whenever you make them? Do you have your own special recipe or interesting variation? Let me know!

Voila!

Voila!

Another word for it would be... yum!

Another word for it would be… yum!

See my first millionaire’s shortbread post for recipe & recipe attribution.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

