No-Churn Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Yes, this is still a baking blog. No, I did not somehow figure out how to bake ice cream. (Not yet, at least. 😉 ) However, for a change of pace, and for something cool now that the weather is starting to get a little warm where I am, I thought I would try making ice cream. I hope you’ll forgive me.

DSC01648

I kept seeing these no-churn recipes around, and I thought it was worth trying. It was. It was super simple and fun to make. The basic recipe has just two ingredients: sweetened condensed milk and cream. I had some cream, but I had to run out and get some more as well as some sweetened condensed milk.

Sweetened condensed milk.

Sweetened condensed milk.

I decided as long as I was going to make it, I would spice it up a little bit. I decided to go for mint chocolate chip. I used 1 tsp of peppermint extract and about half a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chunks. (Okay so not exactly chocolate chip, but it sounds better than chocolate chunk, right?)

Cream.

Cream.

I followed the super simple instructions, which basically involve making whipped cream and then mixing the two ingredients together. I used our immersion blender with the whisk attachment. It was easier to clean up after than my beloved KitchenAid. Besides, it was good to give the immersion blender some use. It had been getting lonely after not being used for a while.

Whipped cream.

Whipped cream.

I mixed it up per the instructions. In addition to the basic recipe, I just added the mint extract to the sweetened condensed milk, and I added the chocolate chunks in near the end.

Mixing.

Mixing.

I put it in a loaf pan, which was just big enough, covered it with freezer paper and put it in the freezer. As I’ve mentioned before, we have the world’s tiniest freezer, so I made sure to make some room before starting the recipe.

Mixed.

Mixed.

All in all it took 20 minutes to make. Plus a few minutes preparation and a few minutes cleaning up. I left it to sit overnight, as it was late enough already.

Add in the chocolate.

Add in the chocolate.

For a brief moment I thought about adding in green food coloring to make it “authentic”, but I figured it would stand okay on its own. (Not literally stand. I don’t know of any ice cream with feet.)

Pour in the pan.

Pour in the pan.

We tried it the following evening. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but as it turns out, it was super yummy! It was just the right amount of mint. It was not super sweet. It was light, kinda like whipped cream, kinda like custard. My wife was utterly blown away by it. It was really good. It was hard to believe that I could make ice cream so easily. But it was definitely ice cream, and it was definitely good.

Cover before freezing.

Cover before freezing.

There was one tiny issue. Most of the chocolate chunks had sunk to the bottom. I should have followed the instructions for heavier mix-ins, but I thought I could get away without doing it. It wasn’t a serious problem. It just meant that I had to make sure to intentionally distribute the chocolate chunks when serving it.

Fresh from the freezer.

Fresh from the freezer.

This ice cream was easy to make, fun to make, and tasty to eat. Yes, you can go out and buy it, but then you wouldn’t have made it. Plus, this way you can make it however you like.

Yum!

Yum!

If you’re looking for an easy, no fuss no muss ice cream recipe, I can’t recommend it enough. But now that I’ve got the hang of this one, I’d love to see what else is out there. If you have any favorite ice cream recipes, or even flavor ideas for this one, let me know! I’d love to hear.

Chocolate on the bottom.

Chocolate on the bottom.

Recipe courtesy of The Kitchn.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

