Cream Biscuits

How many different types of biscuits can you name? I mean US-style biscuits, not British-style biscuits. (For those of you curious about the biscuit linguistic issue, this gives a good summary.) For what we here in the US call biscuits, I didn’t realize there were that many kinds. The one I am most familiar with is buttermilk biscuits. But that requires having buttermilk around, which unless you plan carefully, can lead to lots of recipes to use up said buttermilk. (Like the buttermilk chronicles.)

DSC01570

However, there’s another kind of biscuit that requires no buttermilk at all and is also delicious. It is a cream biscuit. And that is today’s recipe. I had never heard of cream biscuits before, but now I am surely glad that I have.

DSC01571

I found this recipe the same way I often find recipes. I was trying to figure out what to do with some leftover ingredient. In this case, that ingredient was cream. I had some left over from the pie sticks. Obviously, there are a lot of things you can do with cream. Whipped cream is the obvious choice, but I didn’t feel like making any.

DSC01575

Then I came across a recipe for cream biscuits. Awesome! But it called for a cup and a half of cream and I only had a cup. Going out to get more would have defeated the purpose, and it only made 8 biscuits to begin with so I didn’t want to shrink it. But then, buried in the comments on a page about using up cream, I found a different recipe for cream biscuits. But, this one only used a cup of cream. Voila! So I went with that.

DSC01576

It was very simple. There were just a few ingredients. I mostly just measured everything in one bowl. They were very easy to make and very easy to clean-up.

DSC01577

After mixing, I thought the dough might not have enough liquid, as it was still a little crumbly. I went in with my hands and mixed it all in. It was perfect. Although I will admit that the honey was hard to mix in entirely.

DSC01585

I split it to make 8 biscuits. Taking a big ol’ blob of dough and splitting it into 8 equal parts is not as easy as it looks. You have to eyeball it and hope you get it close. I split it in half, then in half again, then in half one more time. I was close. Some were bigger than others, but it wasn’t too bad. I just re-proportioned them to make them even.

DSC01586

I put them in for 10 minutes which wasn’t quite long enough. I put them in for the other 2 minutes. I took them out and let them cool.

DSC01588

We didn’t wait too long until we tried them. They were delicious! They were rich and moist. Less buttery than buttermilk biscuits, but delicious nonetheless.

DSC01589

There was one slight issue. Once I bit into the center of one, it was clearly a little bit doughy. So they were definitely undercooked a little bit. They were still good, but they probably should have been cooked a couple more minutes. Reheating them in the toaster oven mitigated some of that, but it’s something to keep in mind if you’re trying these at home.

So a new (to me) kind of biscuit? Check. A use for extra cream? Check. A simple and delicious recipe? Check again. If you’re interested in any of these things, I would definitely recommend these biscuits. But I’d also love to hear from you. Do you have any great uses for leftover cream? Any great biscuit recipes that I’ve never heard of? Let me know in the comments below!

Recipe courtesy of this comment on The Kitchn.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

