Chocolate Pie Sticks

Who likes pie? I’ll just assume all your hands went up. Who thinks tiny versions of bigger things are fun and adorable? I’ll just assume the same thing again. One more question: who likes chocolate? I know, three for three, right? Well, have I got a treat for you. This week’s post is about an adorable recipe called chocolate pie sticks. In case you’re wondering what it is, it’s probably exactly what you think it is.

DSC01515

I wish I could take credit for coming up with such an incredibly simple and awesome idea, but alas, I cannot. I will take credit for being inspired to make them, however. The impetus for making these was a visit from a co-worker. I work in the NYC office of a company, and the company’s other big office is in Los Angeles. My boss and his counterpart in the LA office came up with the idea of an exchange program so that everyone could learn how the other office works. This visit was part of that plan.

DSC01517

Since he was coming all that way, I thought it would be nice to make something in his honor. You know, welcome him to the other side of the country. Also, we have these weekly conference calls with both offices, and the NYC team is always boasting about my baked goods. So I thought it would be nice to let him share in that.

DSC01518

DSC01520

The recipe was originally designed to use up scraps of dough leftover from making a pie. However, I didn’t have any pie scraps sitting around, so I made a batch of pie dough from scratch. This recipe came with its own pie dough recipe, in case you needed it, but I decided to go with my standby pie dough recipe from smitten kitchen.

DSC01523

The dough was quick and easy to make, as usual. I followed the recipe as is, except I used half butter and half shortening in order to use up some shortening I had left. Also, I only let it sit in the fridge for about 15 minutes to chill, instead of the hour recommended. (I was making these at night, and I didn’t want it to be too late of a night.)

With the cream wash and sprinkled with sugar.

With the cream wash and sprinkled with sugar.

I rolled out the dough. I kinda measured it. (In retrospect, I could’ve just used the ruler on the pastry mat as a guide.) I cut the dough and lined up the resulting dough strips. It was fun to put together. To make assembly easier, I got little ramekins to hold the different ingredients in: water, chocolate chips, sugar, cream. Once I had the chocolate chips all lined up in a row, the adorable factor was off the charts.

The first batch, fresh from the oven.

The first batch, fresh from the oven.

I had a little problem with sealing the chocolate inside the two layers of dough to make the pie sticks. I’m not sure what the issue was. Possible reasons I could think of were: not chilling the dough long enough, the composition of the dough (that is, using shortening), and not working quickly enough. The second round was easier than the first, because I went back and re-applied water to the top layer in order to stick the layers together better.

The second batch, fresh from the oven.

The second batch, fresh from the oven.

Then I pierced them with a fork. I applied a wash on top, but I used a cream wash instead of the egg wash called for in the original recipe. (The car wash was not available.) Then I sprinkled sugar on top. (A spoonful of sugar helps the chocolate go down?) The pie sticks were hard to move. So after the first couple were a little bit of a mess, I waited to move the rest until after sealing them.

DSC01535

Again, I’m not sure which reason (see above, or maybe that they were too big), but it took forever to bake them. The original recipe called for 12-15 minutes. I kept doing it in 2 minute increments after that, so as not to overcook them. I lost track on the first batch, but I think it was 23 minutes. The second batch I baked a little longer, maybe 25 minutes. The second batch seemed like it was cooked better.

DSC01537

I got 18 individual strips which made 9 pie sticks from the first batch, and 18 strips from the second batch, so 9 more. Plus 2 extra not well-formed pieces which made one more, for a total of 19 pie sticks.

DSC01549

They looked nice. They weren’t as pretty as the pictures from the original recipe, but they were pretty good. The second batch was better looking than the first, I think from having let them bake longer to get that nice golden brown color. I let them cool. I tried one, the “extra” one from the second batch. It was very good. It was like a portable chocolate pie you could eat with your hands. They were simple to make, but tasty.

DSC01562

I brought them into work. Everyone loved them. The coworker I specifically made them for really enjoyed them. So much so, that he came back for seconds. A couple of people asked for the recipe. One person even commented that they were like something you would get in a bakery. I work with such nice people. 🙂

DSC01564

So if you’re looking for a way to use up leftover pie dough, this is a great recipe to have in your toolkit. And even if you’re not, it’s worth making some pie dough just for the occasion. But what about you? Do you have any great recipes for using up pie dough? Any creative ideas for miniaturized versions of bigger desserts? The world wants to know!

DSC01566

Recipe courtesy of Domestic Fits.

Pie dough recipe courtesy of smitten kitchen.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

