Coffee Cake

Hey everyone out there in blog land! Happy Passover! For those of you that celebrate, I hope you’re enjoying the holiday with friends and family. In case you’re excited by the title and are thinking that this might be a coffee cake recipe that’s good for Passover, I hate to dash your hopes, but it is not. Alas. I made this a few weeks ago, and I’m just now catching up to it. However, I did make something yummy for Passover this year, and I’ll be writing about that in due course. So stay tuned!

DSC01488

This recipe I made for a friend’s housewarming party. My friend and his fiancée had just gotten a new apartment together. Fun! Exciting! Housewarmings are another occasion where people give different things, and I like to give food. It’s fun, and it’s delicious.

Freshly made crumb.

Freshly made crumb.

When I went looking for good recipes to make for a housewarming party, I kept finding things that would be great to make if you’re hosting a party, not bringing something. At some point I came across something which made think of coffee cake, and while I can’t remember what it was, I’m sure glad I did. I found this recipe, and the rest is history. Delicious, delicious history.

Freshly made batter.

Freshly made batter.

It was pretty straightforward to make. I made the crumb first, then the cake. It used lots of simple ingredients, so I used what was listed in the recipe. One difference is that I used Greek yogurt, vanilla at that, instead of regular plain yogurt, as that’s what I had available.

DSC01494

I had always wondered why coffee cake is yellow, but now I know why. Besides a whole egg, it also uses an egg yolk. Science! I used the KitchenAid to put it together. Vroom, vroom! It made quick work of things.

Ready to bake.

Ready to bake.

There was a brief moment of oopsie. Right after I added them to the dry ingredients, I realized I mixed up the baking powder and baking soda measurements. Fortunately, I realized before I had mixed them in. I removed all of both of them, and a little bit of flour came with them. I replaced the little bit of flour and then re-measured and re-added. Phew! That was close.

Crumb topping close-up.

Crumb topping close-up.

I didn’t have an 8 x 8 dish, so I used an 11 x 7 dish. It’s about the same. I buttered it and lined it with parchment paper. It was a little challenging getting the dough in there. But after some finagling, I managed to spread it all around evenly-ish. Then I put the topping on. Sprinkle, sprinkle, press, press. Fun!

Fresh from the oven.

Fresh from the oven.

After baking, it came out looking amazing. We were running a little late for the party at this point, so I had just enough time to let it cool a bit, before I wrapped it up to take it with us. We were traveling a fair distance (to Queens), so I made sure to wrap it securely. This included a support for the bottom, as it was a big cake.

Baked crumb close-up.

Baked crumb close-up.

I managed to get it to the party in one piece. It went over quite well. Our hosts were pleasantly surprised by it. And everyone’s eyes kind of lit up once it was unwrapped and setup on the table. Everyone thought it was delicious, some people even going back for seconds. I managed to get a piece, and I have to agree. It was a moist and flavorful cake, and the topping added a nice texture and more flavor.

DSC01508

Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of the cake sliced up, as I was too busy enjoying the party to take any pictures. But hopefully you can imagine what it looked like. Or perhaps you can’t, and you’ll be forced to make this cake. This yummy, yummy cake. I’m sorry that your lack of imagination would force you to make something so tasty. My apologies. 😉

DSC01510

All in all, I would say that this was a great cake for a housewarming party. It was the right size to feed a party. It was delicious. And something about it just said “housewarming” to me. I had never made one before, but I’m definitely glad I did.

DSC01514

Is coffee cake something in your repertoire? Do you have a favorite recipe to share? Do you have another favorite dish to bring to housewarming parties? Let us know in the comments below!

Recipe courtesy of David Lebovitz.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

