Kouign-Amann Postscript

Greetings! Happy April to everyone. For many of us this is now springtime, a time when the weather is warm, and the world around us buzzes with life and new beginnings. It’s a great time for baking, what with all the inspiration around us.

Unfortunately, here at Needs Baked HQ, it’s a slightly different story. I’ve spent the last week under the weather. 😦 Thankfully, I’m on the mend. While I’ve got lots of recipes in the pipeline, I haven’t had the time or energy to really write anything up. I didn’t want to leave you empty-handed though, so I do have something short to share today.

You might remember I made these delicious kouign-amann a while back. They’re a delicious, buttery, flaky, French pastry that take a long time to make, but are totally worth it. When I made them, I made a whole bunch, and they were so rich, we couldn’t eat them all. Apparently I had saved one, but I had totally forgotten about it.

The other week (way before I had been knocked down by the spring sickness), I was cleaning out the freezer, when I came across a muffin shaped parcel of aluminum foil. I figured it was a muffin or a cupcake from an adventure long past, but when I opened it up I found a kouign-amann. I have no memory of having saved one, but I was very excited that I had. It looked just the same as the day I had baked it, still glistening with caramelized sugar.

I wasn’t going to waste it, so I put it in the fridge to defrost over night. I checked StillTasty (my go to site for checking the safety of “mature” foods). They suggested it would still be okay, so I figured I would give it a shot. The next day after it had defrosted, I put it in the toaster oven for a little while, and waited (what seemed like a long time) for it to warm up.

How did it turn out? Oh. My. Goodness. It was still delicious. Buttery, flaky, sweet, and delicious. (The very center of it hadn’t gotten warmed up enough, as I had only lightly toasted it. So that part wasn’t as delicious, but if I had cut it open first or waited long enough to warm it more, it would have been. The rest of it: still amazing.) All the memories of making it came floating back. It was still a triumphant pastry all these months later. Wow. I really have to hand it to the French.

Now I want to make these again. Since I’m now an expert ;), maybe I could make them much quicker this time. Or, as I’m remembering, I have another version of the recipe which is supposed to be much quicker and easier. Maybe I’ll try that.

In any case, if you have a spare afternoon (or so) and love buttery, flaky, sweet, and delicious pastry, you should definitely make these. And if you want to surprise yourself, put a couple in the freezer and forget about them. You’ll be glad you did.

Recipe courtesy of Bon Appétit.

* PS – The image I used for this post was not a new image, just a recycled one from when I first posted this recipe. But since it looked exactly the same, and I didn’t remember to take any pictures this time, it will have to do.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

