Dirt Cookies

Fret not true believer. These are not some ridiculous attempt at putting actual dirt inside a cookie. (To paraphrase our dear friend Roger, we bakers may act idiotic, but we’re not stupid.) Rather, the name is a reference to how the cookies look.

Raise your hand if you’ve ever bought an ingredient for use in a recipe only to have a lot left over when you’re done and nothing else to do with it. Because I don’t have magic powers, I can’t actually see you right now. But I’m going to assume there are a lot of hands raised. This recipe was one of my attempts to use up said extra ingredient and not let it go to waste.

So what was the magic ingredient I was looking to use up? You may laugh, but the answer is chocolate cookies. Yes, there are cookies in the cookies. As I hinted at above, they’re not a usual staple around here. You might remember a recipe I made a while back called chocolate crusted banana blondies. Yes, that goes quite a while back. This week’s recipe is from then as well, part of my series called “recipes of future past”.

Those blondies were delicious. I made them many times. The crust required crushed up chocolate cookies. I experimented with a bunch of different variations. And at the end of it all, I had a bunch of chocolate cookies leftover. Granted, chocolate cookies are not like saffron. You probably aren’t going to just munch on a handful of saffron if you have it leftover, but you could easily just eat the cookies as is.

Never one to back away from a baking challenge, however, I wanted to find a way to use them up in something else. After combing through much of the wild internet, I found this recipe.

You see, they’re called dirt cookies because the crushed up cookies inside look like dirt. They’re effectively like chocolate chip cookies, with the crushed up cookies substituting for the chocolate chips. In the end, not the most creative or exciting way to use them up, but they turned out alright.

And I’ll let you in on a secret that you might have already figured out. You’ve seen these before. If you ever looked at the picture at the top of the page, it’s a picture of these cookies. I’ve thought about changing the picture before, but I really like how it looks. The rows and rows of cookies stretching on seemingly to infinity.

As I recall, they were pretty good. Not the world’s most amazing cookies, but good. Interesting, a little bit different with the cookie within a cookie thing.

Now that I’ve found a good chocolate cookie recipe, I’d probably use that and just scale to fit, so I didn’t have so many leftover cookies. But if for some reason I did have leftover cookies, this is a decent recipe to use them up.

How about you? Got any good recipes for using up leftover bits and bobs? Got any other “cookie within a cookie” recipes? Feel free to share in the comments below.

Recipe courtesy of Allrecipes.*

*I’m 99% sure this was the original recipe, but it’s been so long I can’t be 100% sure.

20130514_220353

2 thoughts on “Dirt Cookies

  1. alisonwroby

    I was moving house one day and looked in my pantry to clear it out. I saw a pre-made pie crust, marzipan, dried cranberries, and a slue of nuts. I put the marzipan on the bottom of the crust and just threw in the rest of the ingredients, helter skelter. It was my “kitchen sink” pie and my colleagues ate it up.

    Like

    Reply

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

