Caramel Apple Cider Cookies

I can honestly say I’m not a time traveler. The closest I get is watching Doctor Who. Watching and wishing I could follow him into the past and see what things were like in a different time. But the next closest I get is probably by rediscovering old recipes. It’s like a window into the past. Not a door I can step through unfortunately, but a window I can peek into and observe from a different perspective.

If you had asked me when I made this recipe, I couldn’t have told you. But in looking up the photos I took when I made it, I see that it was made in September of 2013. It’s what I like to call one of my “recipes of future past“. It harkens back to a time before I was really writing the blog and taking careful notes. So, I’m not even sure what recipe I used. I’ve included a recipe at the end to give you an idea, but you’ll have to use your judgement, as I can’t vouch for that one in particular.

I do remember what the impetus for the recipe was, though. I had some apple syrup I wanted to use. In theory, this is to be used for making drinks with. But, adventurous baker that I am, I thought it would be fun to use it to make a cookie infused with appley goodness.

So I had the idea for the star ingredient for the cookie, now I needed a recipe. I did a little digging around, because of course someone must have done this before. I did find some apple cider cookies, but they all used this apple cider drink mix. I couldn’t really find one which used a syrup. So I had to do some digging to figure out how much apple cider would be made by the drink mix. Then I had to figure out how much of the syrup would be used to make a similar amount. Then I tried using that amount in the cookies, in order to have a similar apple potency.

20130902_010552

I don’t remember at this point if I compensated for the fact that the drink mix was powder and the syrup was liquid. As we know, having different ratios of solids and liquids than the recipe originally calls for could have unintended consequences. I don’t know if that’s what caused the issue, but there was definitely an issue.

As the name implies, these cookies call for caramel. These days, when I need caramel, I generally like to make it myself. However, I made this recipe before I started making my own caramel, so I used the pre-made kind. The cookies were fairly straightforward to make, and right before baking you stick a caramel into each cookie. The cookies cooked fine, but the caramel was unhappy.

20130902_010610

I tried to pull the cookies off the baking sheet, but the caramel hadn’t melted properly. As you might be able to see from the pictures, the cookies kinda fell apart. That’s because the caramel sat like a small, yummy, and unmovable brick in the middle of the cookies. The cookies themselves were fine, but the brick wouldn’t move with the cookies. In each case it basically separated out, and took a good chunk of the cookie with it.

I’m not sure if I didn’t cook them long enough, if the caramels were too cold when I baked them, if I didn’t form the cookies properly, or if the aforementioned solid/liquid ratio was the issue. I’d have to give them another shot to investigate why.

20130902_010628

I remember the cookies as being good. They weren’t the best recipe I ever made, but they were good. I mean apple and caramel together in a cookie, right? Right.

If you try these, please let me know how they turn out. I’d love to hear your stories. And if you have any good ideas for using apple cider in a baked good, I’d love to hear about that, too. I just recently came into a good quantity of apple cider, so I might be tempted to try something else.

Probable recipe source: The Cooking Photographer.*

*I say probable, because I can’t remember where I got the original recipe. But it looks like this is the original version, regardless of where I found it.

2 thoughts on “Caramel Apple Cider Cookies

  1. Barbara

    First, I have no answers for you. Big help, I know. I’ve made filled cookies before, long ago, with raisin filling, but those are cut-out cookies made in two layers, or you could fold them over like a turnover. I’m not sure, but yours look more like drop cookies. did you drop some of the dough over the caramel? It looks like some worked better than others.

    Speaking of mistakes, I tried to make a sweet potato gratin a few weeks ago and the sweet potatoes dissolved into the cream instead of staying in slices, making a tasty mess. But it’s all about the eating, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

