Cinnamon-Swirl Chocolate Chip Bread

In last week’s yummy biscuit post, I mentioned I had found a dessert recipe which also coincidentally uses buttermilk. This is it. Don’t worry, it’s not another installation of the buttermilk chronicles, just a coincidental buttermilk convergence.

DSC01154

I had a bunch of Hershey’s Mini Kisses in the cupboard. I had gotten them because I thought they would be fun to use, but they had just been sitting there. I looked for some recipes, but I didn’t find anything interesting that specifically called for them. So I thought I would just find a recipe that uses chocolate chips and use these instead. I had been doing lots of cookies recently, so I thought I would do something different. I thought about doing a desserty bread, and I found this recipe.

DSC01155

Most recently I did a bunch of bread (skillet bread and the aforementioned biscuits), so I almost thought I wouldn’t do this, but it looked fun. However, it turned out my loaf pan was too small. (I didn’t know there were so many sizes so close to each other. It called for a 9 x 5 pan but mine is only 8 1/2 by 4 1/2.) I went with an 8 x 8 baking dish which was the same volume. I figured it would turn out more cake-like and less bread-like, so it wouldn’t have bread overload.

DSC01156

Interestingly enough, this one called for mini chocolate chips. Even regular size chocolate chips would be bigger, but these Mini Kisses were bigger still. Mini Kisses are like small Hershey’s Kisses or big chocolate chips. Also they’re milk chocolate instead of the semi-sweet called for in the recipe. Even with such a bold chocolate substitution, I was undaunted. Also of note, I used grapeseed for the oil as that’s what I had on hand.

DSC01157

I was right to be undaunted. They were really straightforward to make.

DSC01158

I used a small bowl for the wet ingredients because it was dishwasher safe and would save on cleanup. So I didn’t mix the wet ingredients as much as directed. I mixed them in, but not so slowly. I put them in a little gradually, but mostly at once.

DSC01159

I often use parchment paper, but I didn’t this time. I just greased the dish. It asked to split the batter in half, so I just guessed. Then I covered it with cinnamon sugar. Then put the rest on. Maybe there wasn’t enough batter on top, because I had to really stretch it to cover, or maybe it was just stuck on the layer below. Then I topped it with the rest of the cinnamon sugar. And then some more Mini Kisses.

DSC01165

I covered it with foil and baked it. I put it in for 45 minutes at first. The dish wasn’t quite as deep as the one originally called for, so it should have cooked quicker. What my research told me was to shorten the baking time and raise the temperature. But because it was glass, that same research told me to lower the temperature. So I figured the temperature would even out. After 45 minutes it wasn’t done. I tested it a few more times and ended up at 58 minutes. (The recipe said 45-60.)

DSC01166

It looked and smelled amazing! Some of the topping got caught on the foil so it didn’t look as pretty in that spot. But it looked great. I let it cool. I wrapped it up to eat the next day for dessert, which was a good idea because the recipe says it’s better on day two.

DSC01182

So how was it? It was delicious. I was thinking that the shape of the dish would make it more like a cake than a bread. But even though we cut it up like a cake, it was definitely a bread. Not like sandwich bread, but like banana bread. (I can only imagine the sandwiches you would make with it. Although, I bet French toast would be awesome.) It had a nice mix of flavors between the cinnamon and the chocolate. It was moist and flavorful.

DSC01185

Some of the Mini Kisses ended up on the bottom or on the edge and got baked pretty well. I joked that they seemed like fried chocolate chips. Which seemed to be an interesting idea on its own. At the time I had imaginings of a new dessert craze, but in the light of day I’m not sure it would catch on.

DSC01186

In any case, if you’re looking for a yummy and easy dessert bread, look no further. If you’ve already got one that you’d like to share, I’d love to hear it. And, if you have any ideas for a new dessert craze I’m open to suggestions.

Pan size research here and here.

Recipe courtesy of Sally’s Baking Addiction.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

