Skillet Bread Revisited

As you may remember, I made this bread before. This time the impetus was wanting to have a special dinner. We decided to make spaghetti and meatballs, and I made this bread to go with it. I followed the recipe as is and just added garlic powder on top. We were going to make it into garlic bread, so I thought I would give it a head start.

DSC01139

It’s a simple (and awesome) recipe, so there’s not a whole lot to add, but I did want to mention a couple of things. While baking this, I was also baking other things at the same time. (You’ll hear about them soon.) In order to fit everything in the oven at the same time, this ended up on the top rack, and it was a little too close to the top. I think it browned on top too quickly. Once I realized that, I pulled everything out, moved the racks around, and moved the bread down so it wasn’t too close to the top.

DSC01153

I baked it for 35 minutes, and it came out lovely. It was a very good-looking bread. It looked maybe a little bigger, like it had risen more. I was reminded that it’s very easy to make. I asked myself again, why don’t I make this all the time? (Answer: Because I’m a fool, that’s why.)

DSC01168

Thanks hon for doing the dishes! (Thankfully it wasn’t too much.) I cleaned up the counter because when dealing with flour, it gets everywhere. I wrapped it up that night so we could have it the next day. I didn’t have a paper bag handy to keep it in this time, so I wrapped it in foil.

DSC01170

We had it for dinner the next night, and it was delicious and fresh. The garlic and rosemary went really well together. My wife made a garlic spread which went great with it. But we didn’t finish it that night. We had it for about a week. We had it with several dinners. And some lunches, too. My wife made some pretty fabulous grilled cheese sandwiches with it.

DSC01171

So, I’m reiterating my previous endorsement of this recipe. It’s simple, lovely, and delicious. I can’t think of a good reason you aren’t making this right now. If you can, please let me know in the comments below.

DSC01176

Recipe courtesy of Baker Bettie.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

