Mini Peppermint Oreos

If you’ve been following along, you know that I was trying to figure out a recipe for a cookie competition that I entered. I made the peppermint cream squares. And then the homemade Oreos. I decided to make the Oreos and then take the peppermint from the squares and mix it into the Oreo filling. And I needed to test it out to make sure it would work.

DSC01052

Besides combining the two recipes, I also needed to try shrinking the cookies down. Why, you might ask? Smaller is better for the competition because people eat so many cookies they can’t really eat anything that big. Also making them smaller means it’s easier to make more of them.

1/2 teaspoon size

1/2 tsp size.

1/2 tsp size smooshed. (You're supposed to smoosh them before baking.)

1/2 tsp size smooshed. (You’re supposed to smoosh them before baking.)

I made a full batch of the cookie batter. I could have made less to test, but I needed to use one egg for the batter anyway, so I decided to just make the whole batch. I did the full amount of sugar for the cookies.

1/4 tsp size

1/4 tsp size.

The original ones were made with a rounded teaspoon of dough. I tried doing a rounded 1/2 teaspoon. I baked them for 6 minutes (3 before rotating). Those were nice but still too big. I then did a rounded 1/4 teaspoon, also for a total of 6 minutes. Those turned out to be the right size. I tasted one and they seemed to be cooked the right amount. I don’t know if you can tell from the pictures, but they were the most adorable little cookies you’ve ever seen.

1/2 tsp size baked.

1/2 tsp size baked.

1/2 tsp size close-up.

1/2 tsp size close-up.

I decided to use Silpats (silicone baking sheets) when baking these. We had gotten some as wedding gifts but hadn’t managed to use them yet. (Long term readers may sense a pattern here.) We only had so much parchment paper and didn’t want to go through it all. The only problem was we only have two cookie sheets that our Silpats really fit on, so we ended up using parchment paper on a third one just so we could have more going at the same time.

1/4 tsp size baked.

1/4 tsp size baked.

I say we because my wife helped tremendously with this recipe. She helped with spooning out the cookies, taking some pictures, unwrapping and processing the soft peppermint candies, and all kinds of other things. I might still be working on them if she hadn’t helped. Thank you, thank you, thank you dear!

Here you can see the difference in size between the two. I went with the smaller size in the end.

I made the Oreo filling as per the recipe. I compared the fat and sugar content of the cream/filling of the two recipes and it looked equal. So I figured I could just drop the soft mint candies into the regular Oreo filling. I used the same amount as in the peppermint cream squares recipe (30).

Filling!

Filling!

Since my wife had already unwrapped and ground up the mints, after I made the filling, I mixed the resultant peppermint candy powder into the filling. I also added a teaspoon of peppermint extract, as I had done with the squares. It was a little dry and crumbly so I mixed it more until the consistency got back to where it should have been (or at least close).

Peppermint candy powder!

Peppermint candy powder!

The cookies had cooled pretty quickly. So once the filling was ready, we started filling them. I filled and my wife sandwiched. In the face of so much adorable mini cookie-ness, I came up with a little game. I said that each of the cookies had a friend and that we needed to find each cookie’s friend to make the other part of the sandwich. At first I wasn’t sure how much filling to use, so I was a little spartan. I ended up going back at the end to add more to those, but there was still a bunch of filling left over. (My guess is adding in all the candy powder added a lot of volume.)

Peppermint filling!

Peppermint filling!

The consistency of the filling was not quite as good as it was with the original Oreo recipe. The  candy powder made it not as creamy. Maybe I shouldn’t have used as much of the candy powder. Maybe I needed to make sure the candies were more ground up. Maybe I needed to mix it in a little bit more. Or maybe there’s no way to do it without altering the consistency and that’s just how the cookie crumbles.

So many cookies to fill!

So many cookies to fill!

DSC01080

We made close to 100 mini sandwich cookies. (A few less because we ate some cookies while testing, some were bigger than the size we ultimately went with, etc.) But it makes sense. The original recipe makes 25, and we used 1/4 of the dough for each. For the competition, I’ll need 200 or so. I will need to make at least a double recipe, maybe triple, just in case.

DSC01081

We tried some that night. Not only were they were the cutest little sandwich cookies you’ve ever seen, they were also delicious! They had a nice minty chocolate mix. The mint was good but not overpowering. The candy powder gave the filling a nice pink color. Yum, yum, yum!

DSC01087

Because “mini peppermint Oreos” isn’t the greatest name, I wanted to come up with a better name for them. My wife and I brainstormed that a bit. Some names we came up with: minties, mini minties, mini chocolate oblivion, Santa sandwiches. Nothing really stuck, so more work to do there.

DSC01088

My wife and I each brought some in to work the next day, and people really liked them. People said things such as, “Oh yeah, I’ll need to grab two of these.” Also, I had been talking to someone about all the recipes I was trying out for the contest, and I said I was thinking of making these, and she said, “Oh yeah, definitely make these.” Our company holiday party was that night, and apparently word had spread about the cookies because I was asked about them at the party. So that’s a good sign. My wife had similarly good reactions at work.

Sandwich cookie sitting on a teaspoon for size comparison.

Sandwich cookie sitting on a teaspoon for size comparison.

So, I would call this a successful test. I finally had my recipe for the competition. The next step was to gather the amount of ingredients I would need and make the actual cookies. Stay tuned, as this saga nears its completion! But in the meantime, let me know: do you have any favorite recipes that are combinations of other recipes? Drop a line below!

Original Oreo recipe courtesy of smitten kitchen.

Peppermint flavoring courtesy of The Kitchn.

One thought on “Mini Peppermint Oreos

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

