Cinnamon Sugar Mini Donut Muffins

This is part four and, sadly, the end of this cycle of The Buttermilk Chronicles. If you’ve been following along, there have been 3 different biscuit recipes so far. There was the first one (blue cheese and scallion), the second one (gluten-free feta and scallion), and the third one which was straight up buttermilky goodness. I promised you it wouldn’t be all biscuits, though, and today I am keeping my promise. These are silly and delicious little desserts, and they’re very easy to make. They look like a muffin and taste kinda like a donut. The cinnamon and sugar also give them a nice little crunchy texture.

DSC00790

A few things you should know (about this recipe at least, I can’t speak for your life in general): I used applesauce instead of an egg. I didn’t have any eggs, and I didn’t want to get them just for this recipe, as that might have started a cycle of The Egg Chronicles. (The silver lining would be that it would answer the age old question: which came first the buttermilk or the egg.) I finished up the last of the buttermilk. Kudos to me! Seriously, it took a lot of dedication. I’m not saying I’m ready for a marathon, but I was able to see this through. And I used 1 1/2 tsps cinnamon in the topping. (I almost ran out.)

DSC00792

This was my first time using my new mini muffin tray. (It’s actually called “petite”, which is slightly bigger than mini. Who knew?) I didn’t have floured cooking spray, so I used regular cooking spray and threw some flour on top. It was a little messy. Shocking, I know.

DSC00794

I used my trusty KitchenAid with the paddle attachment. I can’t remember if I’ve used the paddle attachment before. I use the whisk attachment by default generally. In retrospect, I think some recipes might have asked for the paddle attachment, but I haven’t been paying attention. Oops. Generally applesauce is a good egg substitute. But I could tell after beating it that it wasn’t light and fluffy like it would have been with an egg.

DSC00800

I filled up the muffin tray. They came up mostly to the top for all 24 in the pan. I tried baking them for 9 minutes, but they didn’t seem ready. I tried the other 2 minutes, but they still didn’t seem ready. I did an extra 2 and they were ready. They smelled nice and cinnamony. (That’s a word, right?) They didn’t rise as much as I thought they should have. I think that was partially because the applesauce didn’t do the same job as the egg. Plus, the tins are a little bigger than mini tins, so they had more space to fill.

DSC00802

DSC00808

I then made the coating which was easy enough.

DSC00810

DSC00813

I flipped the tray over to release the muffins. A few fell out, but not all. I tapped it a few times and many more came out. (Mostly right side up! I guess they’re like cats in that way.) The last few didn’t come out on their own. I had to cut around the edges (with a plastic knife of course) to loosen them and remove them. I could see on the bottom of a few of them that the flour residue had baked. So there was probably too much flour in those.

Butter, the first part of the topping.

Butter, the first part of the topping.

Cinnamon sugar, the second part of the topping.

Cinnamon sugar, the second part of the topping.

Dipping them in butter and cinnamon sugar was easy enough, although they seemed kinda small to handle. I almost ran out of topping. The last couple didn’t get quite as much.

DSC00819

I made them late at night. And so I had to do cleanup late at night. I might bake more if I didn’t have to do any cleanup. Often I don’t have to, as my wife is awesome and does cleanup much of the time. But she was already asleep, and having to do it tonight reminded me that I don’t like doing it so much.

DSC00822

And for the $64,000 question: how did they taste? I thought they were good, but not amazing. I can think of four things I did different than the recipe: the tin was a different size (petite vs mini), the cooking spray was different (regular plus flour instead of floured spray), I used applesauce instead of an egg, and I baked them a little longer. Of all those, I think it was the applesauce substituting for the egg that caused the problem. They were still good, they were just not light and fluffy and muffiny. (That’s a word, too, right?) They reminded me a little of the apple snickerdoodle blondies. They had a similar flavor, and I had made the same substitution there. And in both cases they were a little bit more spongy than fluffy.

DSC00826

As I said, I thought they were decent, but not awesome. In the interest of full disclosure, my wife disagreed with me. She thought they were great. And when she took them into work, her coworkers agreed with her. I’m very glad people enjoyed them. I think my only hesitation with them is that I believe that they can be so much more. Perhaps next time I will try them without any substitutions and see how they turn out.

DSC00831

So thank you for following along with this cycle of The Buttermilk Chronicles. There may be more in the future, for wherever there is Buttermilk, The Chronicles are not far behind. But next week we’ll be back to our regularly scheduled programming. (As much as any programming on here is regular. 🙂 ) But in the meantime, I’m curious to know: do you have a good egg substitute? Is it applesauce? Is it something else? I always love having more tools in my toolbox, so I appreciate any help you can give.

DSC00838

Recipe courtesy of Averie Cooks.

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Sugar Mini Donut Muffins

  1. Barbara

    I always worry that the fruit for egg would affect the rising, but no one else seems to worry about that when they suggest it. I never see anyone suggest adding more baking powder or soda to compensate for the lack of egg. On the other hand, applesauce is often suggested as a substitute for fat like butter, so it’s curious to me that it could substitute for both of those things. I guess that wasn’t much help. Anyway, they look good to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Carl Post author

      Thanks for your comment. You make a good point. No one ever says add more leavening. I might just have try them again with the egg and see how they turn out.

      Like

      Reply

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

