Buttermilk Biscuits

Welcome to the third part of the buttermilk chronicles. (Coming soon to a theater near you!) While this third part is biscuits as well, it’s not all biscuits. I promise you I haven’t turned this into a biscuit only blog. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that. πŸ™‚ ) It all started because I got some buttermilk so I could make biscuits, but then I had a bunch of buttermilk left. I found the first recipe was good, but I wanted to tweak it and try using up some ingredients, and that was the second part.

DSC00763

Which brings us to part three this week. We decided to make chili for dinner, so I thought I would make biscuits to go with that. I know, I had just made some, but these were different and I thought they would go better with the chili.

DSC00766

These biscuits were similar to the previous recipe, but they were slightly different. There were no add ins and there were slightly different quantities. I also made 1 1/3 times the recipe to bring it back up to what it was originally: 12 biscuits. I used on the higher end of the sugar (around 25 grams). I wasn’t intending to necessarily use that much, but I accidentally dumped more in to the bowl I was measuring in, and it was hard to get it all back out cleanly especially since the bowl had been used to measure other stuff which left residue I didn’t want to put back in the sugar.

DSC00768

Notice the residue from the previous round of biscuits on the parchment paper.

Seriously, aren't these the cutest little biscuits?

Seriously, aren’t these the cutest little biscuits?

I used a pastry blender for the butter. (I’m so glad I got that. It’s been worth its weight in gold.) Because the dough was a little dry, I had to add a little bit more buttermilk at the end. I think I hadn’t shaken it well enough, so it was a little clumpy at this point. I added maybe another tablespoon or so.

Fresh from the oven.

Fresh from the oven.

DSC00772

I made drop biscuits. I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to measure them in. They looked really cute. I left out the baking sheets with the parchment on them from the previous recipe, as it was only a couple of hours in between the two batches of biscuits. (Yes, we were swimming in biscuits. Not literally, of course. And again, not that there would be anything wrong with that.)

DSC00773

I did 12 minutes at first, switching back to front and top to bottom halfway through. They needed a couple more minutes after that. I let them cool a little bit before digging in.

DSC00775

DSC00776

We had them with the aforementioned chili. They were awesome. I can see why these are called “My Favorite Buttermilk Biscuits” by smitten kitchen. They’re pretty amazing: light and fluffy, crispy outsides, buttery and delicious. They’re exactly what you want a biscuit to be like. (Well, I can’t speak for you, but they’re exactly what I want a biscuit to be like.) We ate up a bunch with dinner. I can see how they might be more breakfasty, but I can’t see a reason not to eat them with any meal. They’re kinda amazing. Then again, breakfast is probably my favorite meal of the day.

Chili con carne con biscuit. :)

Chili con carne con biscuit. πŸ™‚

Do you have a favorite buttermilk biscuit recipe you’d like to share? These were delicious, and we ate them up pretty quickly, but I understand there are lots of good recipes out there. I would not consider it a burden in any way to have to do multiple taste tests. πŸ˜‰

DSC00779

Recipe courtesy of smitten kitchen.

2 thoughts on “Buttermilk Biscuits

  1. Barbara

    I made buttermilk biscuits on Saturday and sausage gravy. Tomorrow or the next day I’m making some savory scones. You do have to make plans when you buy buttermilk.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

