One Year!

I normally post things on Sundays, but this felt like it couldn’t really wait. It’s kinda hard to believe it, but it’s been a year since this blog launched. I started working on it earlier than that, but my first post was September 14th, 2014. Happy blogaversary to me!

The year flew by, but when I think about everything that’s happened, it’s been a lot. I’ve learned a lot. About blogging, about baking, and about life in general. I think the biggest lesson I’ve learned is to always use a bigger bowl than you think you’re going to need. And the second biggest lesson I’ve learned is to never try to cut up enough apples for an apple pie by hand, unless you start very, very early in the day. I’ve also learned about substituting applesauce for eggs, how big of a hole to cut for frosting, and how to test a thermometer.

I’ve learned some things about photography, too. Like taking way more shots than you think you’ll need to make sure you get the ones you want. And how to make the pictures not look so dark, even while being photographed in my woefully underlit kitchen. I know I’ve got a lot to learn, but hopefully at least some of that is showing in the photos I take.

And I’ve also learned what a great community of food bloggers there are. I’ve learned so much from your camaraderie, your writing, your photos, and of course your amazing recipes. Thank you also for your comments, feedback, and support. It’s an honor to get to be a part of this group.

While this is ostensibly a baking blog, I’ve realized that as much as I enjoy food and writing about food, I enjoy equally as much writing stories about people. People and the food they love. Or food made for people that I love. Or the love that I have for people that is shown in the food I make for them. What I’m saying is it’s about love. It’s about food, yes, but it’s also about love.

Some might argue that if you eat a chocolate cake by yourself, there’s more for you to enjoy. I would argue that if you share that chocolate cake with others, you’ll enjoy it even more so. Chocolate cake tastes better with friends. This works for cookies, too. And pie. And, well, you get the picture.

It’s also a fitting time for this blogaversary. (I don’t care if it’s not a word, I’ve already used it twice.) As this first year of blogging comes to an end, and a second one begins, it’s also a new year of another sort. It was just Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish new year. L’shana tova. Happy 5776!

So happy new year to this blog. Happy new year to everyone. Here’s hoping that this next year is also full of learning. And love. And dessert, too.

 

3 thoughts on “One Year!

    1. Carl Post author

      Thanks! It seems like just the other day that I started it. Time has really flown by. You seem to have a good thing going. It wouldn’t surprise me to see you going strong after one year, or more! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

