Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Skookie

I’ll be honest, the impetus for this week’s recipe was neither high-minded nor inspirational. As I’m out shopping for food that I need, I sometimes come across food that catches my eye. I often pick it up, not knowing what I’m going to use it for, just knowing that it’ll be fun to use. At this point my cupboards were kinda overflowing with all the random ingredients I had picked up but not yet used. I decided to start cleaning it out, which means making lots of fun things!

DSC00496

In this case, I went looking for a recipe to use up the peanut butter chips I had. I came across this one. I had heard about skillet cookies before but had never tried them. This “skookie” has a very silly name, but since I’m a silly guy, and it’s a great looking recipe, I thought I would give it a go.

Dough close-up!

Dough close-up!

It’s a pretty straightforward recipe. It was very simple and easy to put together. I used the KitchenAid to mix things up, which meant I could look at the next step while it was mixing. (I don’t think I’ll get tired anytime soon of this thing doing all the work for me.) I made one substitution. I didn’t have any eggs so I used 1/4 cup applesauce instead of an egg. We generally don’t have eggs in the house unless it’s for something specific, and I didn’t want to get a whole bunch just to use one and have the rest go to waste. So while it’s egg-free, it’s not vegan, but making it vegan wouldn’t be hard to accomplish.

Ready to bake.

Ready to bake.

The peanut butter chips kinda clumped together cause they were smooshy and maybe a little melted. Doesn’t bother me at all, they’ll still taste yummy. Because of their color, they also kinda got lost in the batter. You really had to look to see them.

Fresh from the oven.

Fresh from the oven.

I didn’t use butter to grease our cast iron skillet. It was already greased from seasoning it the last time we used it. I did smear the butter from the butter wrapper just for old times sake. Growing up when I was baking with my mom, after adding butter to cookie recipes, we would use the wrappers to grease the baking sheets. Kinda ingenious now that I think about it. I love our cast iron skillet, by the way. It was another wedding present. (Keen-eyed observers will notice we got a bunch of kitchen stuff for our wedding. That’s not a coincidence.) It was a good investment.

After cooling, the middle dropped a bit.

After cooling, the middle dropped a bit.

I baked it for 20 minutes, but it didn’t seem quite right. It was brown and cooked through, but it was still a little jiggly. I put it in for 3 more minutes, and it seemed a little better. It looked and smelled awesome, like one giant cookie. (Thank you as always to my wife for doing the cleanup. It was much appreciated.)

A look inside the skookie.

A look inside the skookie.

I let it cool. It said to serve it warm, but we were about to put dinner together. My wife and I joked that we should have it for dinner. (My joke was loudly proclaiming “Cookie!” in a faux Scottish accent when asked what to have for dinner.) In the end, good sense won out. I think we had pasta.

Skookie or cookie pie?

Skookie or cookie pie?

And when we did serve it, how did it taste? It was very good. Sweet and peanut buttery. I like peanuts as much as the next guy, but I think my wife liked it more than I did. I think it might have been a little too sweet or rich for my tastes, or maybe I just took too big of a piece, but it seemed very sweet. (We cut it in wedges like pie. And my wife lovingly referred to it as cookie pie.) It had a nice, soft, gooey texture even after it cooled. It had a nice crispy bottom and sides. Also, interestingly the middle (well everything but the edges) sank in a little bit as it cooled.

DSC00520

Oh, and a tasting update! The next day it was yummy still. It had the same soft texture with the edges a little crispy. The sugary taste had calmed down. It was less sweet which was good. It still had a nice peanut buttery flavor. It stayed like that over the next couple of days till we finished it.

DSC00522

As I said, it was pretty easy to make. I’m sure many of you have also made one, yes? What’s your experience been like? Any favorite skillet cookie recipes to share? Don’t be shy!

Recipe courtesy of Barbara Bakes.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

