Creme Egg Popcorn

Do you ever come across a recipe that looks so wonderful, silly, and fun that you just know you have to try it? This is one of those. I stumbled across it and knew I had to try it. I’ve since been following the blog. There’s lots of fun recipes there that I want to try.

Generally, I’m not a big candy person. (I’m a real boy!) Candy isn’t generally my thing. I have no real special affinity towards Easter candy or Creme Eggs even (I know some people do), but I figured why not.

It was right after Easter that I went to find the Creme Eggs for this recipe. I thought I might not find any, but the store had tons of them, and cheap, because of after Easter sales when they’re looking to get rid of it all. So with all the ingredients in hand, life got busy, and I didn’t get a chance to make it for a few weeks.

Humble beginnings...

Humble beginnings…

And then I did. It’s a really simple recipe. Putting it together took all of about 15 minutes. I used a bag of microwave popcorn. It was maybe 4/5 of the amount of popcorn they called for, so I only used four of the five Creme Eggs called for to compensate. I didn’t adjust the other ingredients. Maybe I should have, but they were already such small amounts.

Post-microwaving.

While microwaving the mixture, I got distracted and forgot about stirring it. After about a minute I remembered to. Over all it took a little over 2 minutes. It seemed fine when it came out. But after I stopped for a moment to snap some pictures, it hardened a little. It wasn’t solid, but it was a little clumpy. (After the fact, I realized that maybe I should have heated it a little bit more.)

20150502_203423

I spread the mixture out as best as possible over the popcorn. I manually moved some of it around where it didn’t seem to be attached to any popcorn. I used aluminum foil on the pan. I put it in the oven for 15 minutes.

Ready to bake.

Ready to bake.

When I pulled it out it still looked liquidy, not hard as it was supposed to be. I tried mixing it up a little bit, trying to get the popcorn that was mostly uncovered into the piles of chocolatey stuff that were congregating together. I was going to put it back in the oven, but as I was mixing it up, it quickly hardened, some of it into clumps. I let it cool some more, as recommended, but it didn’t really need to cool that much.

A little bit clumpy.

A little bit clumpy.

So after all the shenanigans, how was it? It tasted good. Really good. It was very chocolatey. There was a nice sweet and salty taste. Some bits had a little too much salt, so maybe I should have cut it down a little bit, or at least mixed it in better.

20150502_210243

So yes, it sounded like an odd recipe. But it was easy and fun to try. And most importantly, it was quite yummy. I look forward to trying more recipes from this blog. What about you? Do you have any recipes that looked unusual at first, but that turned out great? Let me know in the comments below.

Recipe courtesy of sugar and sam.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

