Mini Sweet Potato Cheesecakes

I know you’ve been waiting on the edge of your keyboard to find out what happened with all of the leftover filling from the sweet potato cheesecake I made.

As you may remember, the recipe made a lot of filling. I had two 16 ounce yogurt containers worth left over. That was the difference between a 9 inch cake pan which I used, and a 10 inch springform pan which the recipe called for. I have since gotten a springform pan and I realize the difference. It’s huge. The springform pan is about twice as tall, and in this case a little wider.

The "crust".

The “crust”.

With so much leftover, I had to figure out what to do with it all. I looked around for ideas and I settled on this one. It’s actually remarkably simple. Put liners in a muffin tin, put a vanilla wafer on the bottom for the crust, fill it with filling and bake. Voilà! Instant mini sweet potato cheesecakes. I’d love to take the credit for coming up with such an awesome idea, but I can’t. I got the idea from here. I used baking instructions from here.

Filled up and ready to bake.

Filled up and ready to bake.

I used Trader Joe’s Ultimate Vanilla Wafers. I put a couple of spoonfuls of filling for each cheesecake. At that size, each container had enough filling for a dozen mini cheesecakes. So that made 2 dozen total. I baked them for 20 minutes at 325°. I let them cool on a cooling rack then chilled them in the fridge.

Fresh from the oven.

Fresh from the oven.

Even though I made 24 total, keen-eyed readers will notice there are only 22 in the picture. (Bonus points for you!) My wife and I taste tested them before I got to take the picture, and they went into the fridge. They were yummy, they just needed to chill.

How many cheesecakes can you spot?

How many cheesecakes can you spot?

I feel a little bit like I cheated in making these. I could have gotten more graham crackers, crushed them, and made more crust, but it was late. I had worked all day, and then picked up supplies for the cookie competition. I wanted to use up the filling before it went bad, so I didn’t want to wait any longer to make them. And as my wife mentioned, I did make the filling. And I did assemble them. It just seemed too easy, which I guess it was after I put in all the work of making the filling in the first place.

Check out that texture. You can also see the "crust" peeking out at the bottom.

Check out that texture. You can also see the “crust” peeking out at the bottom.

They were just as delicious the second time around, and they made everyone (including a bunch of people at work) very happy. I thought it was a pretty easy way to use up the extra filling. But I’d also love to hear your ideas. What would you make in this situation? What kinds of “day after” recipes have you come up with? Let me know!

Original cheesecake recipe courtesy of Chef Keith Snow, Harvest Eating, via Mambo Sprouts. Mini cheesecake recipe idea from this discussion on Chow. Baking instructions courtesy of this recipe at AllRecipes.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

