Chocolate Pie

 

20140820_033913

Yes, chocolate pie is a thing that exists. I hadn’t really thought of such a thing before, but I have to tell you it’s a really good idea. I mean, imagine how great pumpkin pie or apple pie is. Then think about replacing those things with chocolate. Yes, it’s exactly as good as you think it is.

Although in retrospect making any other kind of pie now seems silly, I didn’t originally set out to make chocolate pie. I went looking for recipes that use lots of milk and eggs, and that’s what led me to it. Why milk and eggs you might ask? While I have grown some vegetables, I don’t actually have room for a cow and chickens in my apartment. I do, however, have some lovely friends who gave us their CSA share for the week.

In case you don’t know, CSA stands for community supported agriculture. The group contracts with farmers, and pays them up front for their goods (fruit, vegetables, milk, meat, etc.). As a member of the CSA group, you pay a fee for whichever items you want, and you get a share of that item throughout the season. If it’s a good season, you get a lot, and if it’s a bad season you get less. It helps the farmer have a guaranteed income, and shifts some of the risk away from them. As a consumer you get a source of locally produced food at a great price and you help to support local agriculture. (If you want to learn more about CSAs, you can read about them here or here.)

 

The crust in its former life.

The crust in its former life.

In any case, our friends were going to be out-of-town for the week and they didn’t want their CSA share (which included milk and eggs) to go to waste, so they let us have it. (Thank you, btw!) But since we don’t normally have that much in the way of milk or eggs in the house, I had to find something to do with them. Granted, I could have just made something like scrambled eggs, which would have been very easy. But we’re not big scrambled eggs fans, and it would have been a lot of scrambled eggs.

I also wanted to make something nice as a surprise for my lovely wife, who was coming back from being out-of-town for a few days. When I found this recipe, I figured I had found the right thing. A recipe that will use up lots of milk and eggs? Check. Delicious sounding dessert with which to surprise my wife? Check.

I mean, what better things to surprise someone with than chocolate and pie? Who doesn’t love those? (Before you answer, there are a couple of things to note. First, those were rhetorical questions. And second, I know there are some people for whom the answer is no. I do understand that. But I also really don’t.) Now that I had found the recipe, I actually had to sit and wait for a couple of days. This stuff doesn’t last forever, so I had to wait until I had a free night that was close enough to my wife’s return, so it wouldn’t go bad before she got back.

20140820_002502

The crust freshly baked.

 

Sometimes making recipes doesn’t take lots of planning, scheduling, and researching. Sometimes I just decide and make things on the spur of the moment. Obviously, this wasn’t one of those times.

It was a fun recipe to make. It’s like a heap of chocolate pudding in a crust. I didn’t realize that I was effectively making chocolate pudding when I decided to make this recipe, but that’s what it was. It was delicious, I just didn’t figure out what it was until I was knee-deep in it. (Figuratively of course. I mean, who would literally be knee-deep in chocolate pudding? That would be silly.)

20140820_232439

Some other recipe notes: I had to stir it a bit longer than they said until it boiled. I also looked up a conversion for cookie crumbs from cups to grams. I wasn’t using standard vanilla wafers – I used these vanilla cookies instead – so I wanted to make sure I had the right amount. I also found this webpage useful for general conversions from cups to grams. And while I know how to make whipped cream, I looked up how to make it anyway, just to see if there was anything I was missing. I followed the instructions I found here, and I added sugar and vanilla.

How was it? As good as it sounds. No one else really knew what to make of it when I said it was chocolate pie. But once they tasted it, they got it. Delicious, delicious, delicious, and loved all around. I highly recommend.

Try it out and let me know what you think. And feel free to tell me in the comments below: what fun recipes have you found when you were trying to use up particular ingredients?

20140823_205735

Recipe courtesy of Garnish with Lemon.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

