Double Chocolate BBQ Potato Chip Cookies – Hometown Edition

20140704_201022

I promise you that I’m not ignoring the wide world of wonderful desserts to just focus on the same things over and over again. However, I am revisiting a previously made recipe. But with good reason. Last time I made these with some BBQ potato chips that were available. They were good, but as I mentioned before, I’m a bit of a potato chip snob. So I wanted to see how they would taste with my favorite BBQ potato chips (Middleswarth Kettle Cooked BBQ).

A few weeks before baking these, I happened to be back in my hometown for my high school reunion. (Go Colts!) While I was there I picked up some Middleswarth and brought them back with me. They don’t distribute these chips out-of-state, so unless you order them online (yes, I’ve done that), you have to pick them up the old-fashioned way. I fully intended to eat them as I usually do, but other events conspired to change that.

I agreed to make a dessert for my family’s annual 4th of July party. When I say “annual”, I mean every year without fail for who knows how long. And when I say “who knows how long”, that’s not because I have a bad memory, it’s because no one can remember. It’s been going on at least 30 years. Why do we have a 4th of July party? I don’t really know that either. We’re as patriotic as the next family, but not any more so. I mean, I have a soft spot for the musical 1776, but that’s about it. My guess is that my parents decided to do it one year, and somehow it stuck.

Thirty or so years later, and here we are still celebrating it. It’s always a blast. A lot of things are the same, but some things have changed. My dad used to do all the grilling, but my brother and I have now taken over. We got a charcoal chimney to make lighting the charcoal easier and to get away from using lighter fluid. (From an ease of use perspective and an environmental perspective, I can’t recommend it enough.) A few years ago my dad put a bocce court in the backyard, so there’s a lot of that. And my friend Chris now brings his guitar and plays music for everyone. (Thanks, Chris!)

Even the desserts have changed. I remember growing up that I would help my mom make this awesome cake, topped with strawberries and blueberries to represent the US flag. (Like I said, patriotic.) She now makes a different dessert, still topped with strawberries & blueberries (see “patriotic” above), but since I’m coming in from out-of-town, I don’t get the opportunity to help with that. Since I’m baking a lot more these days, I offered to make something and bring it in.

I had made these cookies before, and I thought they would be a great choice. There’s already chips at the party, so I thought these would fit in well. Since I had the Middleswarth chips handy, I decided to use those. Yes, it’s a little bit weird to take one trip back home, pick up chips, use those chips to make cookies, and then bring those cookies back home again. I didn’t plan it that way, and I would never encourage anyone to go to those lengths for these cookies. But since I already had the chips, I was glad the timing worked out.

The first bunch I cooked did not go as planned. I made them too big, and too thin, and they burned a little bit. (In retrospect, this could have been the problem with the first batch of these I made gluten-free.) I also used two trays, so one tray was not in the optimal position while baking. I then switched to using just one tray, and made thicker, but smaller cookies. After the switch in methods, they turned out great. They were a little crumbly, and they crumbled a little bit more during transport, but that was to be expected.

One other note about the baking process. I had a busy week leading up to the trip, so I didn’t get to make them as early as I wanted to. I took off work the day I was leaving, and I made them that morning. I’m glad I did. We had been having issues with the light in our kitchen (thankfully it has since been fixed), but the daylight made it possible to see well enough to bake. I’m also glad it’s a quick recipe. I managed to make them quickly enough in order to have them done in time to leave and catch the train.

Everyone at the party really liked them. I almost didn’t get a chance to take a picture of them before they disappeared. The picture in this post was the only picture I got, and I’m lucky I remembered to take it in time. One person even asked for the recipe. How about that?

I didn’t really get to eat that many, because they were gobbled up so quickly. I’m not complaining. In fact, I consider that a compliment, and I’m glad people enjoyed them. My only regret is that I was wanting to have a few around to do a comparison (from memory) with the earlier batches to see if the BBQ flavor came through more. Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to make them again. 😉

Try them out yourself, and let me know how they are. I’m particularly interested in what kind of BBQ chips you use and how strong the BBQ flavor is in the cookies. I’d also love to hear if you have any traditional July 4th dessert recipes you want to share.

Recipe courtesy of the Pescetarian and the Pig.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

