Deep Dish Cookie Pie

20140405_234101

When is a cookie not a cookie? When it’s a pie. That’s not supposed to be a riddle, but rather a description of this interesting recipe. This deep dish cookie pie does double duty as both. Plus, it’s relatively healthy-ish, at least in comparison to your average dessert.

I stumbled across this recipe one day, and I was intrigued by its creativity, audacity, and claims. The creativity involves using beans as the base of the recipe instead of something more traditional like flour. Its audacity is in making something both a cookie and a pie, and in making it sorta healthy. And the claim, that no one could tell that it’s made with healthier ingredients, that would have to be tested.

So I did. I tested it to see if it would work as described, and to see what people thought of it. The recipe is very simple to make. As for ingredients, I used 1 can each of garbanzos and great northern white beans. I used quick cook steel-cut oats. I used vegetable oil. My brown sugar wasn’t in the best of shape, so I had to do the brown sugar trick. (Read here for more details.) And for chocolate chips, I used up what I happened to have lying around, which was a mix of semi sweet and milk chocolate chips. It only took a half hour to make.

Where I ran into trouble was with the pan. The recipe calls for a 10-inch springform pan, which I do not have. (It was only after this recipe, and several others, called for a springform pan, that I actually went out and bought one.) So I looked up what the volume of a 10-inch springform pan is so that I could approximate it with some other baking dishes. I used this handy-dandy resource. A 10-inch springform pan is 12 cups. So I used a 9-inch round cake pan (6 cups) plus an 11 x 17 baking dish (also 6 cups) to equal the volume that I needed.

20140405_233729

I split the batter into the two dishes. It didn’t fill them up that much, but I assumed that it would rise to fill them up more. Since I was using two smaller dishes instead of one bigger one, I started with a much shorter baking time, to make sure I didn’t overcook them. I baked them for about 20 minutes at first, but they weren’t quite done. I ended up cooking them for another 5 minutes, for a total of 25 minutes.

As it turned out, I could have probably left all the batter in one dish. They didn’t really rise at all. So instead of making a pie, they ended up more like cookie bars. Still good, but not as intended.

20140405_233723

And how does the recipe taste? Really good. I knew what was in there, and I could taste it a little bit, but that didn’t detract from it being yummy. And no one else who tried it had any idea. They thought it was delicious cookie-ness. They had no idea it was somewhat healthy-ish delicious cookie-ness. I told people it was cookie bars instead of cookie pie, both to cover up my mistake, and to stem the tide of any confusion that would have arisen from what is obviously not a pie. And while I would have told people what was in it had they asked, no one ever did.

If I make it again, I’ll have to try it in one deeper dish, instead of two smaller ones. That way I can see how it functions as a pie. Also, if I make it without any milk chocolate, it’ll be vegan, too.

I wanted to add one more thing about this recipe and the fact that it’s gluten-free. I thought oats were gluten-free, but I wanted to be sure, so I did some research. Technically, oats are gluten-free. However, given how our agriculture system works, they are often contaminated by being grown or processed with or near wheat or other gluten-containing grains. To avoid those issues, you can get oats that are certified gluten-free. However, it is also true that some people who have an issue with gluten also have an issue with oats, so make sure to check with your audience before you assume oats are okay. (You can read more about these issues here and here.)

I ask you now to take up the challenge. Go forth and make this recipe. I’ll bet you it’s delicious and that no one knows the secret ingredients. Am I right? Am I wrong? Let me know in the comments below.

20140405_233902

Recipe courtesy of Chocolate Covered Katie.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

