Peanut Butter Chip Chocolate Cookies – Gluten-Free

20131224_213536

If you’ve been following this blog, you know that I like to make some recipes gluten-free. One of my chief baking cheerleaders/taste testers/inspirations (my wife) does better when she eats less wheat, so I make gluten-free recipes specifically for her. I know there’s a difference between gluten-free and wheat-free, but since any gluten-free recipe will have to be wheat-free, and since I’ve found many more gluten-free resources than wheat-free resources, I find it easier to make things gluten-free.

This particular batch of cookies was made as a surprise for her. She’s a big fan of peanut butter and chocolate. Truth be told, I am, too. Growing up we used to scoop out peanut butter right from the jar and sprinkle chocolate chips on it. It was simple, it was a little bit of guerilla dessert making (we didn’t really have much in the way of sweets in the house), and it was delicious. I don’t know if I was a fan of peanut butter and chocolate because of that experience, or I undertook that experience because I was already a fan, but in either case enjoying peanut butter and chocolate together has stuck with me.

So, while these were for her, I knew they would be enjoyed all around. And I had just happened to pick up some peanut butter chips recently, so this recipe was perfect. Well, almost perfect. The original recipe is not gluten-free, but that was easy enough to remedy. I simply substituted gluten-free flour for the regular flour.

20131224_213520

It is a super easy and quick recipe. In my methodical way, I often take a little bit longer to make recipes than the recipes indicate they will take. But this one only took an hour from start to finish. This includes the baking time, which included having to bake a few different batches because there were so many cookies. How many? I ended up with 47 cookies. Some were bigger and some were smaller, because I wasn’t being an exacting chef about it. The exacting chef in me would have tried to get an even 48 (4 dozen) out of them, but that didn’t happen either. The original recipe also only made 2 dozen cookies, so I can only imagine how big those were.

I cooked them for 8 minutes. They were a little crumbly when warm, which means I had to be careful sliding them off the cookie sheet so they didn’t break apart. They are a little grainy due to the texture of the gluten-free flour, but not any more so than anything else made with this flour. They are soft and have a good texture. They also have a “good cookie to chip ratio”, according to my wife. She knows about such things, so I take her word for it.

Overall, I would say these are a quick, simple, yummy peanut butter and chocolate dessert. But don’t take my word for it, try them yourselves. Let me know how they turn out in either original or gluten-free versions.

Recipe courtesy of Allrecipes.com.

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

