Chocolate Peppermint Snaps

20131130_190438

Yes, this is a recipe involving peppermint. Yes, I realize that it is still October. But before you express concern that I’m trying to usher in the holiday season early by making all things peppermint, let me let you in on a little secret. I didn’t just make this recipe. It’s shocking, I know.

I had the idea for this blog last year. At that time I took notes after I baked a lot of recipes, with the idea that I would start the blog then. I didn’t get around to actually starting the blog until very recently. By that time I had baked and written notes for many things. So while the items I baked were seasonally appropriate at the time, at this point they’re out of sync. Eventually, I’ll get through my backlog, and the items should start to sync up again. But in the meantime, don’t be worried if you see pumpkin in July or strawberry in December. I’m not completely oblivious, I’m just catching up.

I came across this recipe after a little bit of research. I saw a bottle of peppermint extract in the grocery store, and I knew I had to get it. I didn’t know what I was going to make with it, but I knew it was going to be something, and that something was going to be delicious.

I started looking up various recipes with peppermint in it when suddenly I remembered something in the back of my mind called a peppermint snap. I don’t know if I had ever had one. But I knew there were ginger snaps, and I was pretty sure there were peppermint snaps as well.

When I did searches for “peppermint snaps”, what I mostly got were recipes for “peppermint schnapps”. Not exactly what I was looking for. But I eventually came across this recipe. Chocolate Peppermint Snaps. The elusive peppermint snaps I was looking for, but even better. Chocolate, check. Peppermint, check. Snap, well… check I guess. I’m not exactly sure what makes something a “snap”, but the name sounds delicious, playful. I was pretty sure I was on to something.

My wife is mostly staying away from wheat. (It’s the result of a fight, and neither side looks to be backing down.) So I’ve been making lots of recipes gluten-free. Usually it turns out fine. The last cookies I made gluten-free had a little issue. So I thought I would try these with regular flour first, to see how they turn out. Turns out there is a gluten-free version of the recipe here, which is just slightly different. I may try that next, or perhaps just use the regular version and substitute the flour. (Like I said, it usually works.)

20131130_190415

I followed the recipe pretty closely. I ended up using twice the peppermint extract, but they hinted that you might want to add more. It’s kind of impressive to me that 2 tsps of peppermint extract flavors that many cookies. Once you approach them, you can smell the peppermint. A friend of mine had a cold when she was eating them and while she couldn’t smell much, she could definitely smell the cookies.

And while you can definitely smell the peppermint, you’re not overwhelmed by it. It’s a pleasant smell. It’s invigorating, but not overpowering. The same when eating them. You definitely taste the peppermint, but it complements the chocolate, it doesn’t overtake it.

So, I hope you enjoy them as much we did. I ended up making them a little bit bigger than they suggested, so I ended up with fewer cookies. The original recipe makes 5 dozen, and I ended up with about 4 dozen. But that was plenty to enjoy.

How did they turn out for you? How much peppermint did you use? Let me know in the comments below.

Recipe from King Arthur Flour.

20131130_190602

Comments? Questions? Smart Remarks?

